7 steps to identify scammers.
Post 1 of 279
This is how I normally do to identify scammers, with this, you should be ok for quite some time.
First of all, I do Google search with the name of the company and the word scam. Normally, there should be no page with the company listed with the word scam next to them but if you see at least one, maybe it is a scam. No need to have several pages, only one is neccessary. :::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::
Secondly, I go on a very good website, www.fraudwatchers.org who have a lsit of all website and company listed as scam. They just saved me from sending sample to a scam company. :::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::
And thirdly, just ask people around on forums just like this one. I saw a mate who've done that. :::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::
Fourth steps is that you can verify the address they gave you and find out what's really on this. Go on www.whitepages.com and enter the address they gave you to find out if the address is really registered as their business address or at least at their names. :::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::
Fifth test is to ask them to phone you. Normally scammers won't do this but beware, some also tries to call you. Please be aware that some scammers uses call redirection which is call callback (I'm not sure of that) or they can use fax to email. Using this, they get number that are listed in U.S.A., U.K. or any European country where in reality, they are located elsewhere. :::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::
Sixth, alway inquire about the mail address. This is a mistake scammers often made. Try to see whether the email address comes from a free mail server. Suppose you get a mail from economicdevelopment@mail2cameroon.cc, be sure this is a scam. The mail address (it truely exist and they tried to scam me) is not from the Cameroon government, but from a free mail server. This is how I caught my first scammer. :::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::
Seventh and last advice for the time being; JUST COME AND ASK ME. Yes, you can come and ask me and I'll help you. I've been for so much time victim of scammer, who fortunately failed in their attempts, that I've got some pretty much experience. :::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::
This is approximately all I can remember for the time being but again, if you need advices, feel free to contact me, it's free :::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::
SORRY FOR ADDIN THE COLUMN (:) EVERYWERE, BUT THE RETURN BUTTON SEEMS TO BE OUT OF ORDER.
Post 2 of 279
Replying to [bsanssouci]: Thanks for the article. Can you tell me if www.chinasourcebrands.com is a scam? Or is there a place to go the forum where people have actually bought from some of these companies that are listed on this website. Thanks
Post 3 of 279
Replying to [ReddHauteHair]:ReddHauteHair i think you are being a bit harsh in calling people stupid. Most people don't know how much things cost wholesale and most don't even know this forum is here. Alibaba should be protecting both the sellers and the buyers. And to say that people deserve to lose their money because of greed is a very awful thing to say. Most people come to sites like this to try and make a better life for themselves and their famlies and most people don't have very good English which is a disadvantage to them. How about showing a bit of compassion.
Post 4 of 279
Replying to [bsanssouci]:
Do you know anything about Dorry Electroncic International?
Post 5 of 279
Please be wary of another member in Alibaba that goes by the name of Visionme Communications. They purportedly are dealers of used Motorola radios. From our investigation, this seems to be the work of one Jonathan Prasetya who apparently has victimized others as well.
In our case, we requested two samples of the radios and remitted $500 to Visionme. They emailed us and advised us to change the beneficiary name to Jonathan Prasetya supposedly the owner. We did so and after the T/T has been made, we can no longer contact them.
We are now considering filing charges against them thru the Indonesian Embassy.
I hope this Jonathan burns in * and in the meantime goes to jail for this crime.
Post 6 of 279
Replying to [ash28]: It is not normal for you to pay for a customer come client to phone you. If they are a serious company, surely they can afford a working phone, even if the phone was down for service work they really should be able to inform you. I personally wouldn't send any money.
Post 7 of 279
Replying to [bsanssouci]: Hi there, can you help me? I am new to importing and am looking at importing some maternity wear from China. There are 2 manufacturers I am looking at dealing with and want to make sure they are legitamite.
1. Shanghai Yesale Trade Co Ltd
2. Shanghai Oriental Clothing Co Ltd
Can you help me?
Thank you
Erin
Post 8 of 279
Replying to [Englishman in Shenzhen]:very good
Post 9 of 279
Replying to [bsanssouci]:hi
i need ur help as im new to this. I'm planning to buy some products from here and the min order is 300. with a bowl will weight around 2KG meaning 600KG in total. but the supplier told me that
"The freight cost USD412.50 in total from Ningbo,China to Perth by post office, for our ship can not reach Perth port, Western Australia
If just to Sydney, say USD38.00 only, no ship between China to Perth directly"
The items is 600KG in total and only cost USD412.50
is that possible
thanks
Post 10 of 279
Replying to [bsanssouci]:
Hello can you help me, I payed 1404 USD for phones to wenfatrade company
Sales And Factory In GuangDong :
Address : A5-A6 Building,SaiBoElectronic & Industry Park, GuangDong ,China
TEL : +86-020-61158888
Email : WenFaTrade@hotmail.com
and they send me anything, please can you advise what shloud I do?
and please can you verify is the other company http://www.nike-af1.com scam is?
Thank you very much Marketa Z.
Post 11 of 279
Replying to [bsanssouci]:Thank you for your advise.Fighting the scamer need all of ours support.