7 steps to identify scammers.
Post 1 of 279
This is how I normally do to identify scammers, with this, you should be ok for quite some time.
First of all, I do Google search with the name of the company and the word scam. Normally, there should be no page with the company listed with the word scam next to them but if you see at least one, maybe it is a scam. No need to have several pages, only one is neccessary. :::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::
Secondly, I go on a very good website, www.fraudwatchers.org who have a lsit of all website and company listed as scam. They just saved me from sending sample to a scam company. :::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::
And thirdly, just ask people around on forums just like this one. I saw a mate who've done that. :::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::
Fourth steps is that you can verify the address they gave you and find out what's really on this. Go on www.whitepages.com and enter the address they gave you to find out if the address is really registered as their business address or at least at their names. :::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::
Fifth test is to ask them to phone you. Normally scammers won't do this but beware, some also tries to call you. Please be aware that some scammers uses call redirection which is call callback (I'm not sure of that) or they can use fax to email. Using this, they get number that are listed in U.S.A., U.K. or any European country where in reality, they are located elsewhere. :::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::
Sixth, alway inquire about the mail address. This is a mistake scammers often made. Try to see whether the email address comes from a free mail server. Suppose you get a mail from economicdevelopment@mail2cameroon.cc, be sure this is a scam. The mail address (it truely exist and they tried to scam me) is not from the Cameroon government, but from a free mail server. This is how I caught my first scammer. :::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::
Seventh and last advice for the time being; JUST COME AND ASK ME. Yes, you can come and ask me and I'll help you. I've been for so much time victim of scammer, who fortunately failed in their attempts, that I've got some pretty much experience. :::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::
This is approximately all I can remember for the time being but again, if you need advices, feel free to contact me, it's free :::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::
SORRY FOR ADDIN THE COLUMN (:) EVERYWERE, BUT THE RETURN BUTTON SEEMS TO BE OUT OF ORDER.
Post 2 of 279
Replying to [bsanssouci]:
I read your tips with great interest.
bsanssouci is canadian?
Post 3 of 279
Replying to [bsanssouci]:
thanks for sharing.and learned it a lot
Post 4 of 279
Replying to [bsanssouci]:thanks for ur experiences, ur comments can help our new alibaba members, thanks a lot!
Post 5 of 279
Replying to [newcoserv]:
This Rice Trading Company isnt listed with the Business Registration Division 1 or Division 2
Not Even with the Business Documentation Center
According to Thailand Law you must be????
Your profile says your Company is:
Huerter Inovations LTD Co
with its address at:
206 Mo6 Nachaling Nong Pai, Petchabun.
Using a FAKE LTD also???
A organic rice Company working out of your bedroom maybe?
Your Company isnt registered with any Thailand Government Agencys (same as scammers do)
You use a cell phone for your Companys phone number.
(same as scammers do)
Your Companys Address is at a residential housing unit!
(same as scammers do)
Huerter Inovations LTD Co Organic Rice
with its address at:
206 Mo6 Nachaling Nong Pai, Petchabun.
Your postal mail delivery says thats a house?
Did you know you list your Companys phone number as:
66-0-810020010
but this phone number goes to a cell phone? (Scammers do this)
Overseas Call to a mobile number in Thailand:
Since 1 September 2006, the domestic access code of Thailand mobile numbering has changed from 0 to 08. Overseas calls to Thailand mobile numbers have to be dialled as follows:
Old dialling format + 66 -0-1234 5678
New dialling format + 66-0- 8 1234 5678
Your# 66-0-810020010 (A cell phone exchange right up scam alley)
A organic rice Company working out of your bedroom maybe?
Your Company isnt registered with any Thailand Government Agencys (same as scammers do)
Do you wish to Explain any of this Wilawud known in the forum as WILHELM
Post 6 of 279
Replying to [bsanssouci]:
![[em5]](http://img.alibaba.com/images/eng/style/icon/emoticons_angry.gif)
i wish i would have seen this before hand..... i was scammed and i posted a topic, but here is the guy and fake company....
Francis Tadwell
Atlantic Motors Limited UK
17 Magnet Road, London UK
Tel: +44-7045-728-413
Fax:+44-7005-981-790
Email: atlanticmotorsltduk@gmail.com
and the fake shipping company was : guarantytrustinternational@yahoo.co.uk If you did business with is company and got your stuff..... im happy for you, cause i didnt !
Post 7 of 279
Replying to [bsanssouci]:Hello Friend,
I accept you hard work to sharing with us.
- Ajay
Post 8 of 279
Replying to [Stamatia]: Sounds to me like that was a scam. Typos always bug me!
Post 9 of 279
does anyone no of a company called new star........http://nike3721.preview.alibaba.com
i think that they are scammers but can anybody tell me this as there email is hotmail.com so free one..
Post 10 of 279
Replying to [montana007lad]:
No I'm not familiar with, http://nike3721.preview.alibaba.com.
What type of payment are they asking for? Here is a quick list of warning signs that may indicate high-risk when two or more of these conditions are met.
Fujian province.
Western Union, Money Gram, TT to personal bank account.
Designer products.
Use of a generic email address: yahoo - hotmail
Most compaines in the Fujian area are honest and reliable. However, you need to make sure you are dealing with someone who is authorized to act on the company's behalf.
Also, Dear Fraudwatherdotorg,
Would you please give it a rest! I can't believe that anyone with a business of their own to run, would spend so much time in this forum, doing what you're doing. You are completely rabid, and fixated on this topic. Is this going to help you run your business, and share knowledge with others? Or is this going to cause others to ignore anything worthwhile that you may have to say in the future?
Post 11 of 279
Has anyone heard about this company - anybody would like to share on how legitimate they are?
On the website they are named as "CL Mobile Incoporated"
Spelling error for "incorporated"
They operate, as they say, from Barrie, Ontario, Canada.
Their phone number is: 1-705-734XXXX
Searched it on white pages with the area code and it shows as norther ontario. However, I really want to confirm this as it would be my first business deal.
Will be helpful to know. Thanks.