4 273
7 steps to identify scammers.
Post 1 of 444
bsanssouci
offline
No Company Website yet
Overall Ranking MVP:2,263 Rank:147
This is how I normally do to identify scammers, with this, you should be ok for quite some time.

First of all, I do Google search with the name of the company and the word scam. Normally, there should be no page with the company listed with the word scam next to them but if you see at least one, maybe it is a scam. No need to have several pages, only one is neccessary. :::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::
Secondly, I go on a very good website, www.fraudwatchers.org who have a lsit of all website and company listed as scam. They just saved me from sending sample to a scam company. :::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::
And thirdly, just ask people around on forums just like this one. I saw a mate who've done that. :::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::
Fourth steps is that you can verify the address they gave you and find out what's really on this. Go on www.whitepages.com and enter the address they gave you to find out if the address is really registered as their business address or at least at their names. :::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::
Fifth test is to ask them to phone you. Normally scammers won't do this but beware, some also tries to call you. Please be aware that some scammers uses call redirection which is call callback (I'm not sure of that) or they can use fax to email. Using this, they get number that are listed in U.S.A., U.K. or any European country where in reality, they are located elsewhere. :::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::
Sixth, alway inquire about the mail address. This is a mistake scammers often made. Try to see whether the email address comes from a free mail server. Suppose you get a mail from economicdevelopment@mail2cameroon.cc, be sure this is a scam. The mail address (it truely exist and they tried to scam me) is not from the Cameroon government, but from a free mail server. This is how I caught my first scammer. :::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::
Seventh and last advice for the time being; JUST COME AND ASK ME. Yes, you can come and ask me and I'll help you. I've been for so much time victim of scammer, who fortunately failed in their attempts, that I've got some pretty much experience. :::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::
This is approximately all I can remember for the time being but again, if you need advices, feel free to contact me, it's free :::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::

SORRY FOR ADDIN THE COLUMN (:) EVERYWERE, BUT THE RETURN BUTTON SEEMS TO BE OUT OF ORDER.




More to Browse :

How to Not Get Scammed on Aliaba or Online
Ways to Identify Scammers
Be Aware of TradeKey.com Scammers

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Hot Topics in the Forum:

• Shipping Products from ZJ to UK • New Business Start up Guide
• Safe to pay by bank transfer to seller? • Time Drafts and Date Drafts
• How to look for OEM order • Importing small quantity
• Guide to Finding New Customers Online • Do you believe in \"Luck\"?
• Tips on Using a Letter of Credit • Getting your item from China to your door?
01 Mar 2007 05:34
Post 2 of 444
omar1224
offline
No Company Website yet
Overall Ranking MVP:107 Rank:6,334
Replying to [bsanssouci]:hey i sent this guy 390usd western union for a nokia n95 cell phone and now ive been scammed heres the name and link http://wanshan.en.alibaba.com here is the name of the company Putian wanshan trade co and here is the bogus tracking # he gave me ems EA918341217CN ill keep updating to let yall know if anything else happens
11 Apr 2007 22:30
Post 3 of 444
purplealien
offline
No Company Website yet
Overall Ranking MVP:54 Rank:104,932
Replying to [bsanssouci]:
Hello - canyou tell me if Hualong Trade Co., Ltd is a legitimate company. I want to buy playstations off them but i was stung before for €5500 and i dont want to make the same mistake again. You would be doing me a huge favor. Thanks
12 Apr 2007 08:54
Post 4 of 444
Replying to [bsanssouci]:Thank you for your helpful hints. I am new to this business and have been contacted by numerous scammers involved in the 419 scams originated in Nigeria and is actually sweeping the globe. You csn learn more by just simply googling terms like internet scams. Once you realize you have been contacted by scammers, email them the email contacts so they can list them on their long list and unsuspecting business people trying to do honest and integrity filled business will be aware. The email is: 419@419scam.org. They will often send you emails about peopkle to avoid listed by name. They are accurate in my experiences. Not everyone is who and what they say they are or appear to be.
Thanks,
12 Apr 2007 09:13
Post 5 of 444
purplealien
offline
No Company Website yet
Overall Ranking MVP:54 Rank:104,932
Replying to [omar1224]:
When did you send the money, why do you think you were scammed?
12 Apr 2007 09:22
Post 6 of 444
Replying to [bsanssouci]:i have a company that scammed me in mid december.www.online-exporter.com.I exchanged several emails concerning ipods & xbox 360 that i wanted to have dropshipped after i presold the items on ebay.After my customers paid for the items through paypal, i emailed my order to online-exporter.com & sent them payment through western union.They emailed me back the names addresses & the items that i listed to them to dropship. t along with a tracking number through EMS.Guess what?After a liitle more than a week my customers asked why they haden't gotten their products.At that time i tried the tracking numbers & nothing came up.I emailed online-exporter.com & they would never return my emails.I concluded that the tracking numbers were phonies & i was scammed.My paypal account is suspended because i could not deliver the goods to my customers nor could i give them a refund.The scammers completely destroyed my business.I lost about 1,500 on the deal.I had no red flags about these people.I know,don't send payment through western union.But when 99% of the expoters in tradekey only except WU what do you do to protect yourself.I would like to hear some opinions.
14 Apr 2007 00:11
Post 7 of 444
CJFry
offline
No Company Website yet
Overall Ranking MVP:73 Rank:62,190
Replying to [bsanssouci]:

This company has used two names which makes me suspicious and they are a free member on alibaba - no scam details found after searching either name
Globalgame Trade Co., Ltd
China IWGame Trade Co.,Ltd
Address: No.31,Meiyuan Road,Chengxiang District Putian Fujian 351100 China
Tel/Fax: 0086 - 594 - 2922986
YOUR THOUGHTS WOULD BE APPRECIATED
14 Apr 2007 01:18
Post 8 of 444
Replying to [bsanssouci]: watch this nigerian get busted, cut and paste this link
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hPrwyZ4nDpk
15 Apr 2007 00:41
Post 9 of 444
omar1224
offline
No Company Website yet
Overall Ranking MVP:107 Rank:6,334
Replying to [bsanssouci]: is this company a scam putian wanshan trade co http://wanshan.en.alibaba.com/aboutus.html
16 Apr 2007 00:46
Post 10 of 444
almeida05
offline
No Company Website yet
Overall Ranking MVP:54 Rank:104,965
Replying to [bsanssouci]:
hello have you ever had problems with company name check collect limited ?. i want to buy staff but very affraid because the payment is not secure for me
16 Apr 2007 05:06
Post 11 of 444
ramon7454
offline
No Company Website yet
Overall Ranking MVP:99 Rank:55,060
Replying to [purplealien]:
Hello.
I am Spanish (I feel my english)
Are real the company Hualong Trade Co, Ltd.?

Thank you very much.
17 Apr 2007 02:14
Email this page Bookmark this page