4 273
7 steps to identify scammers.
Post 1 of 444
bsanssouci
offline
No Company Website yet
Overall Ranking MVP:2,263 Rank:147
This is how I normally do to identify scammers, with this, you should be ok for quite some time.

First of all, I do Google search with the name of the company and the word scam. Normally, there should be no page with the company listed with the word scam next to them but if you see at least one, maybe it is a scam. No need to have several pages, only one is neccessary. :::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::
Secondly, I go on a very good website, www.fraudwatchers.org who have a lsit of all website and company listed as scam. They just saved me from sending sample to a scam company. :::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::
And thirdly, just ask people around on forums just like this one. I saw a mate who've done that. :::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::
Fourth steps is that you can verify the address they gave you and find out what's really on this. Go on www.whitepages.com and enter the address they gave you to find out if the address is really registered as their business address or at least at their names. :::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::
Fifth test is to ask them to phone you. Normally scammers won't do this but beware, some also tries to call you. Please be aware that some scammers uses call redirection which is call callback (I'm not sure of that) or they can use fax to email. Using this, they get number that are listed in U.S.A., U.K. or any European country where in reality, they are located elsewhere. :::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::
Sixth, alway inquire about the mail address. This is a mistake scammers often made. Try to see whether the email address comes from a free mail server. Suppose you get a mail from economicdevelopment@mail2cameroon.cc, be sure this is a scam. The mail address (it truely exist and they tried to scam me) is not from the Cameroon government, but from a free mail server. This is how I caught my first scammer. :::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::
Seventh and last advice for the time being; JUST COME AND ASK ME. Yes, you can come and ask me and I'll help you. I've been for so much time victim of scammer, who fortunately failed in their attempts, that I've got some pretty much experience. :::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::
This is approximately all I can remember for the time being but again, if you need advices, feel free to contact me, it's free :::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::

SORRY FOR ADDIN THE COLUMN (:) EVERYWERE, BUT THE RETURN BUTTON SEEMS TO BE OUT OF ORDER.




More to Browse :

How to Not Get Scammed on Aliaba or Online
Ways to Identify Scammers
Be Aware of TradeKey.com Scammers
01 Mar 2007 05:34
Post 2 of 444
Stamatia
offline
No Company Website yet
Overall Ranking MVP:54 Rank:104,541
i used this company to purchase some PS3 i think the company itself is clean but i got caught by someone using their id,
if they are using hotmail, especially a hotmail account by the name of miesfles, stay well away. i would be interested to know how you get on.
02 Apr 2007 09:27
Post 3 of 444
ArabianSwan
offline
No Company Website yet
Overall Ranking MVP:52 Rank:119,841
Replying to [bsanssouci]:
Thank you so much for good post! I wish I have read it before!!
I have been scammed by this company http://www.rurushoes.com/

I have transferred for them a 400$ for 2 of PS3 and no sign of it till now!!it is about 2 months now. I have been emailing him and he just ignore me even though I see him in msn!! And when I changed my name and I talked to him, he didnt even care of what I say and simply he said send another 200$ to send you PS3 and I refused!! here I felt that he is a scammer !! I have his bank account and his emails if somene can help me get him !!


if you have time plz help me to check some compaines!
I dont want to fall for same mistake!!

------HATE YOU SCAMMERS-------

Thanks.
04 Apr 2007 06:10
Post 4 of 444
lilbuj
offline
No Company Website yet
Overall Ranking MVP:78 Rank:59,716
Replying to [bsanssouci]:Please please help me. can you please contact me at lil_buj_16@hotmail.com, I have to ask you abotu a company but I dont want to over this. thank you
04 Apr 2007 14:03
Post 5 of 444
bsanssouci
offline
No Company Website yet
Overall Ranking MVP:2,263 Rank:147
Replying to [ArabianSwan]:
I am willing to help you. contact me through alibaba.com and I shall help you.
04 Apr 2007 21:21
Post 6 of 444
Replying to [ArabianSwan]: Of course that was a scam. You could not buy (2) PS3's in Japan for that price from a distributor. Real price from a real distributor is going to be 557.00USD or in Japan 55,144.00 Yen. You got scammed because you thought you could buy so low and sell so high. There is not that kind of margin in video game consoles nor in the games for the consoles.

Ranger
SIGNATURE:
About Our Company

Me Tech Supply
ME Tech Supply a D. B. A provides sourcing solutions for both small and medium sized businesses. We are members of the GSAA whose Agents have verified more than 2. 5 million companies World WideWe offer low cos... More

05 Apr 2007 22:48
Post 7 of 444
Replying to [scage]: This is a scam, pure and simple. TNT is a shipper only. They handle no money or inspection.

Ranger
SIGNATURE:
About Our Company

Me Tech Supply
ME Tech Supply a D. B. A provides sourcing solutions for both small and medium sized businesses. We are members of the GSAA whose Agents have verified more than 2. 5 million companies World WideWe offer low cos... More

05 Apr 2007 22:52
Post 8 of 444
Replying to [flexpro]: If you believe they sell fakes then I would stay away from them. If your looking for information on any company do a search. Place the name of the company in place of the words "Search Forums" If there is any information on the company you can get it there. One thing though, you will ususally only find complaints about companies. If you find nothing on a company that does not mean they are legitimate. It only means that no one has made a comment about them and that you will have to do your "Due Diligence" on the company.

Ranger
SIGNATURE:
About Our Company

Me Tech Supply
ME Tech Supply a D. B. A provides sourcing solutions for both small and medium sized businesses. We are members of the GSAA whose Agents have verified more than 2. 5 million companies World WideWe offer low cos... More

05 Apr 2007 23:02
Post 9 of 444
Replying to [cruisin79]: Cruisin79, IM curious how you thought you could get an Apple iPhone at this time in the first place? Why would you try to buy from an Asian country when Apple stated in January 07 that it would not be availalable there until sometime in 08. But best of all that it would not be distributed until June 07 and then only in the US to ATT/Cingular Wireless customers only. I think that almost every moderator such as myself that know anything about IT technologies has stated several times in the many forums the scams associated with products that have been introduced and not yet marketed. Anyone in Asia claiming they have the Apple iPhone is a scam. Anyone anywhere claiming they have stock available in the US to sell before June 07 is a scam. You don't have to believe me, you could just call Apple on your own.

Ranger
SIGNATURE:
About Our Company

Me Tech Supply
ME Tech Supply a D. B. A provides sourcing solutions for both small and medium sized businesses. We are members of the GSAA whose Agents have verified more than 2. 5 million companies World WideWe offer low cos... More

05 Apr 2007 23:33
Post 10 of 444
Replying to [Ranger]:

Thats true.I'm from Malaysia and there will be no Apple I-phone here at least until 2008.If you are receiving claims that they have sample from Apple Malaysia, please stay away from them.Totally scammers.By the way,if you need help to verify address from Malaysia, i can help you because i can tell you whether the address exist or not.[em20]
06 Apr 2007 20:05
Post 11 of 444
qewri3
offline
No Company Website yet
Overall Ranking MVP:52 Rank:119,938
Replying to [3gservices]:
Would you conside www.topnike.com a scammer? Email me at reselltix@gmail.com . Thanks.
08 Apr 2007 12:17
Email this page Bookmark this page