4 273
7 steps to identify scammers.
Post 1 of 443
bsanssouci
offline
No Company Website yet
Overall Ranking MVP:2,262 Rank:147
This is how I normally do to identify scammers, with this, you should be ok for quite some time.

First of all, I do Google search with the name of the company and the word scam. Normally, there should be no page with the company listed with the word scam next to them but if you see at least one, maybe it is a scam. No need to have several pages, only one is neccessary. :::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::
Secondly, I go on a very good website, www.fraudwatchers.org who have a lsit of all website and company listed as scam. They just saved me from sending sample to a scam company. :::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::
And thirdly, just ask people around on forums just like this one. I saw a mate who've done that. :::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::
Fourth steps is that you can verify the address they gave you and find out what's really on this. Go on www.whitepages.com and enter the address they gave you to find out if the address is really registered as their business address or at least at their names. :::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::
Fifth test is to ask them to phone you. Normally scammers won't do this but beware, some also tries to call you. Please be aware that some scammers uses call redirection which is call callback (I'm not sure of that) or they can use fax to email. Using this, they get number that are listed in U.S.A., U.K. or any European country where in reality, they are located elsewhere. :::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::
Sixth, alway inquire about the mail address. This is a mistake scammers often made. Try to see whether the email address comes from a free mail server. Suppose you get a mail from economicdevelopment@mail2cameroon.cc, be sure this is a scam. The mail address (it truely exist and they tried to scam me) is not from the Cameroon government, but from a free mail server. This is how I caught my first scammer. :::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::
Seventh and last advice for the time being; JUST COME AND ASK ME. Yes, you can come and ask me and I'll help you. I've been for so much time victim of scammer, who fortunately failed in their attempts, that I've got some pretty much experience. :::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::
This is approximately all I can remember for the time being but again, if you need advices, feel free to contact me, it's free :::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::

SORRY FOR ADDIN THE COLUMN (:) EVERYWERE, BUT THE RETURN BUTTON SEEMS TO BE OUT OF ORDER.




More to Browse :

How to Not Get Scammed on Aliaba or Online
Ways to Identify Scammers
Be Aware of TradeKey.com Scammers
01 Mar 2007 05:34
Post 2 of 443
bsanssouci
offline
No Company Website yet
Overall Ranking MVP:2,262 Rank:147
Replying to [theone]:
Please send me more information about the company (mail address, phone number and the mail the send you) and I'll see what's the output. Contact me through alibaba.com for quicker response if yo want.
27 Mar 2007 05:14
Post 3 of 443
bsanssouci
offline
No Company Website yet
Overall Ranking MVP:2,262 Rank:147
Replying to [Stamatia]:
I think you got it right, they are just fakes. No need to go further to see that. Congratulation, you just caught one. 1 point for you and 0 for the scammers.
Keep it on. One more step: inform alibaba.com team about the scammers.
27 Mar 2007 05:18
Post 4 of 443
bsanssouci
offline
No Company Website yet
Overall Ranking MVP:2,262 Rank:147
Replying to [VK System AB]:
Thank for the information. It is true that scammers accepts high prices for almost nothing. The high price often make seller to accept everything.
27 Mar 2007 05:27
Post 5 of 443
bsanssouci
offline
No Company Website yet
Overall Ranking MVP:2,262 Rank:147
Replying to [mobp]:
Hi. First bad news, you've already paid them and if they are scammers, you won't be able to get it back. Please send me more information about them and I'll what I can do for you.
27 Mar 2007 05:32
Post 6 of 443
Replying to [bsanssouci]:
Dear bsanssouci,

1.If I search in google, not your company, but just "bsanssouci scam" "bsanssouci fraud" "bsanssouci report",
I will get at least 5 different sites that just doesn't give a real information that says if you are scammer or not,
so, your first won't help very much.

2.Fraudwatchers.org is a very good site, save companies money and products.

3.Use Alibaba's Resources I guess is the very best way to get those scammers. At least someone was damaged by them.

4.Business address or whitepages cannot be used as a scam identifier, in Brazil there is no whitepages for example.
Some companies prefer to receive products in other address departments, it is very normal.

5.Correct, the five is the worst tip of list.

6.OK. So gmail users are all scammers. Wrong for the second time. Sure free mail servers help scammers, but declared free mail servers
proves you that it is not a scammer that are requesting you. Hidden free mails are scammers. Open google and search for "@mail.com" of your
inquirer and you will get if this is a free mail to hidden information or if it is a famous free mail server used for very much small companies.

7.The best, you know much scammers, sure you can help our community to grow up and not get frauded.

Thank you for your tips and tricks will help me very much.

Best Regards,

Have a nice day - GMW info
27 Mar 2007 07:03
Post 7 of 443
Morebrain
offline
No Company Website yet
Overall Ranking MVP:-30 Rank:1,968,110
Replying to [bsanssouci]:Thanks for the list.
Im having trouble with a company called www.nuovamall.com. The use the well known bank account that has neen used by fraud companies many times. How to hit them really hard?

Also Im getting PI from a company called Myrex computer with and adress called: Thomas Morris, Xiameng 45 in Hong Kong. Telephone number: +86 318375689 and a VAT registration No: DNI AC 4465146
Where can I check them to be okay......I have tried searching the net and also the whitepages, but no result......

Please help
27 Mar 2007 11:19
Post 8 of 443
Morebrain
offline
No Company Website yet
Overall Ranking MVP:-30 Rank:1,968,110
Replying to [bsanssouci]:
Here is the mail i got first:
Hello ,

We have a lot of products and discount offers that you might be interested in
.You can check them out at http://www.nuovamall.com .You can pay us by direct
bank to bank transfer into our company bank account ( if you have one of course
).The delivery is made upon payment verification and usually arrives in 2-3 days
.You can contact me at orders@nuovamall.com if you are interested .I will be
expecting your email .

Regards,

Chris Rivers
Sales Rep.
www.nuovamall.com

And this is there bank info. Offcourse they wanted payment before sending PI.

Mr Sami Adam
288 Glentworth Gardens
Wolverhampton WV6 05J
Bank name : HALIFAX
Bank address : 15 Queen Square
Wolverhampton WV1 1TH
Roll no. : D/43075446-4
Sort Code 1-08-63
Account No : 02272754
BIC : HLFXGB21Y13
IBAN : GB91HLFX11086302272754

Thanks for helping.

Best regards GENKEL
27 Mar 2007 23:08
Post 9 of 443
fasonchik
offline
No Company Website yet
Overall Ranking MVP:54 Rank:104,394
Replying to all:

Did anyone see "Sell iPhone" leads at Alibaba? http://www.alibaba.com/trade/search?Type=SALE%2CAGENT%2CMISC&SearchText=iPhone&IndexArea=offer_en&CatId=0
Would you buy one for under USD200 as a "sample from Apple Malaysia"? Can anyone say it's no bull? Nay!!
28 Mar 2007 00:24
Post 10 of 443
fasonchik
offline
No Company Website yet
Overall Ranking MVP:54 Rank:104,394
Replying to [bsanssouci]:
I purchased goods (Nokia N800) worth of USD500 from the Indonesian company called Pt. Horizon Corp. Ltd. I found them at Alibaba a couple of weeks ago and, with good experience in mind, decided to make a deal without proper research. The transfer was made through Western Union - classical, ha? But the very next day I was told that POS Indonesia does not provide tracking numbers for express deliveries (3-4 days), althouth this was agreed before. Next I made an inquiry about the Apple iPhone which I found in the catalog of Horizon later. They claimed that they have "samples" from Apple Malaysia. Meantime, I waited two weeks till the point they stopped responding to my mails and calls. Next day I made another inquiry from a different mail account to find out the price quotes and company background. And... ta-da!! ... I got the message from the same fraudster, but with different telephone number. Plus, he attached a company certificate issued by Indonesian Department of Industry. What are the possible actions in this case to get the money back or... at least to give them a big headache. Thanks for any hints.[em11]
28 Mar 2007 04:42
Post 11 of 443
yonnermark
offline
No Company Website yet
Overall Ranking MVP:71 Rank:63,705
Replying to Besansouci:

Could you please help me by reading my topic here:
http://resources.alibaba.com/topic/39556/Have_I_just_been_scammed_.htm
28 Mar 2007 07:05
Email this page Bookmark this page