0 0
I DIDN'T RECEIVED "Gifts for You promotion"
Post 1 of 7
I have received this mail from Alibaba.com Service Team
(Dear Mr. Amar Kumar Agal,
Congratulations! You are the winner of our “Gifts for You” promotion. You have won a fantastic Alibaba.com 1GB USB Key.
To claim your prize, please confirm your identity by sending your contact details and a copy of your ID card or Passport to promotion.int@alibaba.com before 31 January 2008.)

I also send contact details and a copy of Passport but till day i didn't received my gift. I also contact with alibaba and send mail (promotion.int@alibaba-inc.com, promotion.int@alibaba.com) to them but they also don't communicate with us.

I want to know reason why the Alibaba.com Service Team didnot send the gift.
Award 10 MVPs ( What's this? )for the best answer.
18 Feb 2008 22:59
Post 2 of 7
You were almost certainly victim to a scam - even if Alibaba needed your details, asking for your passport details is a little excessive.

You should probably contact your local authorities to inform them that you may have been a victim to identity fraud.
18 Feb 2008 23:44
Post 3 of 7
Replying to [Vijay Corporation]:I think I am not scammed because the list of winner of "Gifts for You promotion" also show my name & my company name.

and i have received this mail from promotion.int@alibaba-inc.com and I send my details by replying the mail.
19 Feb 2008 02:31
Post 4 of 7
I did a search on the domain to find out who the registered owner is, and fortunately it is owned by the Alibaba corporation. I find it a little odd though, why don't all emails simply use @alibaba.com?

However, I'm still very suspicious of it all, something just doesn't seem right. I know it's possible to mask an email address (pretend like it's being sent from someone else) but I'm not sure if it's possible to mask a reply. Perhaps someone else can comment on this?
19 Feb 2008 04:53
Post 5 of 7
Replying to [Vijay Corporation]:
You just see this: this list have my name Mr. Amar Kumar Agal company: Vijay Corporation

http://resources.alibaba.com/topic/250156/Winners_Announcement_Alibaba_com_quot_Gifts_for_You_quot_promotion.htm
19 Feb 2008 06:33
Post 6 of 7
What do you know, it's real!

Congratulations.

I can't even fathom why they would want a photocopy of your passport though, even if it's for legitimate purposes I can't imagine it being safe to just fax it off like that.
19 Feb 2008 08:23
Post 7 of 7
Replying to [Vijay Corporation]:You need to contact alibaba, may be there is some problem.

Congratulation!
[em21]
SIGNATURE:
About Our Company

CIL Textiles Pvt. Ltd.
CIL TEXTILES PVT. Ltd. Is committed to the production of high quality technical and performanceFabrics for use in wide range of Industrial Markets including, but not limited, Tent and Awning, Outdoor Furnitur... More

19 Feb 2008 22:41
Email this page Bookmark this page