0 1
Beware of Phishing scam
Post 1 of 3
I received an email a couple of days ago from my Bank of America.

Here is the email I received:

Dear Bank of America Inc Online Treasury member!
Our Maintenance Subdivision is running a scheduled Internet Cash Management Service update
By following the link below please begin the procedure of the user details authorization:
http://direct-certs6.bankofamerica.com/direct/certconfirm.htm?cookie=18nwhbceDstvWbdzOkhb
These directions are to be sent and followed by all users of the Commercial Treasury Management.
Bank of America Inc does apologize for any troubles caused, and is very thankful for your cooperation.
If you are not client of the Bank of America Corporation Direct Services please ignore this e-mail!
--- This is an automated email please do not reply ---
© '08 Bank of America Group All Rights Reserved.


I did not think much about the legality of the email, and I give away my userid and password.

Luckily, I realized this email could be a Phishing Scam that many internet user have been talking about. So, I immediately went to my Bank of America account, and quickly changed my userid and password. I have talked to the bank of america customer service, and they are looking into it. Most likely that this letter is a scam, and Bank of America will never request customer to give away password and userid by email. This is serious folks! And I want to let everybody to be aware and be careful at all times....
SIGNATURE:
About Our Company

RYU MEI CO LTD
Ryu Mei is a health and food trading company in Kobe, Japan. Ryu Mei a Japanese food specialist company with products like Kurobuta (Berkshire) , Wagyu (Kobe Beef) , Shochu, Organic Green Tea and Black Vinegar Ku... More

18 Feb 2008 18:35
Post 2 of 3
Replying to [Thomas1976]:

Check the original source of the email.

If you are using OUTLOOK, Click on the menu "View" and scroll down to "Option", you will find the Internet Header. The information will reveal the source of the email.

Sample below:


This email is originated from Japan, written in Korean language. This is sent to another address, but also to our company email.

So, next time, check the origin of the email, is it really from American Express by the simple method above.

Street Smart.
SIGNATURE:
About Our Company

Tijit Pte Ltd
Motto: Digital is our name : Portable is our game
Tijit provides service and supply to Marine Shipping Industry both here in Singapore and abroad focused on portable instruments.
We provide Customer Service for... More

20 Feb 2008 03:17
Post 3 of 3
Replying to [Street Smart]:

Checking every single unknow email with this method is of course the best way, but the email itself contains a lot of warning signs. The truth of the matter is that human tends to be sloppy and click the wrong button. I have received many phishing scam letters before and I have not been scammed one time. But it is just that I was been careless and did not read all those warning signs carefully. hehehe....

Thanks for the info any way.
SIGNATURE:
About Our Company

RYU MEI CO LTD
Ryu Mei is a health and food trading company in Kobe, Japan. Ryu Mei a Japanese food specialist company with products like Kurobuta (Berkshire) , Wagyu (Kobe Beef) , Shochu, Organic Green Tea and Black Vinegar Ku... More

24 Feb 2008 20:25
Email this page Bookmark this page