1 67
Almost got scammed - please beware new alibaba members
Post 1 of 38
Ranan
offline
No Company Website yet
Overall Ranking MVP:356 Rank:578
I recently joined alibaba. I won't give my opinions on the website, but i do want to share this with you.

I sent a message around saying that i was looking for clothes - i got a few replies back, and got talking to one supplier on MSN - i looked at his website, and enquired about the cost of his mobile phones - the apple iphone was $250, so i immediately saw dollar signs in my mind! (here's the first tip - if the guy sells clothes, but also phones, don't go near him).

I got to the stage where i was to pay him - we agreed a price of $2000 for ten phones - amazing price - some may say, "too good to be true" - often on the internet, if it seems too good to be true, it is too good to be true. I called Western Union up (here's the second tip - if they only accept Western Union, Bank transfer or anything like this, then they're frauds), and the lady says to me, "$2000 to China? May i ask what this is for?", and i replied, "of course, i'm buying some products" - she said (and if it wasn't for her i maybe would have bought the products), "Sir, i would recommend you use Escrow or Paypal, because we have millions of pounds worth of fraud from China every year".

So, I did my research - the website given to me was usd-usd.com - i of course typed it in, and low and behold, i find out all i needed to know.

1. The website was listed as under different business's - as in, on alibaba, usd-usd.com was part of "Yosin Trading Company", but on another website, it was listed as part of "Forever Trust Trading Co" (ironic, to the point of insulting).

2. Further down the google page, i found this website - http://www.firetrust.com/en/blog/chris/the-bigger-list-of-chinese-scams

A great guide to at least, if not most, of the known chinese web scams - on it, usd-usd.com.

3. Not related to my search, but the guy insisted on Western Union - he wouldn't take no for an answer - Western Union or Bank transfer or nothing. If the person insists on it, avoid at all costs.

What disappoints me is that this guy was an alibaba gold member, and had a trust pass, which you can see here http://jodanshoes.en.alibaba.com/

How can alibaba give this "seal of approval" to con artists? I can't see myself using alibaba again, or at the very least, i will be taking extreme precautions.

What i can say though, is that i've been very lucky. Were it not for that woman, and my subsequent research, including of these forums, i would have paid him $2000. I can't complain in that respect - it's been a very positive lesson for me.

I would just urge alibaba to send in their welcoming e-mail to a new member details of this forum, and the kind of cons that go on. A lot of newbies like myself are the prey which keeps these guys in business - it's not fair on them/us - we see gold alibaba member, trust pass, and think these guys have been verified properly by alibaba - well clearly they haven't been verified to an adequate level. Is that our fault? The alibaba newbie - well of course we have to take some responsibility - check out your suppliers before handing over any money, that's clear, but alibaba need to do more to make us aware.

I hope this experience helps someone.
03 Jan 2008 09:31
Post 2 of 38
Replying to [Ranan]:
07 Jan 2008 12:54
Post 3 of 38
Replying to [Ranan]:[em7]thanks for the info...i have been looking for designer inspired handbags on alibaba.com and i am so scared to even try to purchase unless it is with escrow.com...but thanks for the information...
09 Feb 2008 18:54
Post 4 of 38
Replying to [Ranan]:

Hi!!! Definitely you are right.These scam bugs must learn their lessons.They opt to be gold members and obtain their trustpass in order to deceive alibaba newbies!!!! Their membership should be canceled and be given other disciplinary action so as not to help them carry out their cheats, theft, deception, whatever.the next time they register, they will think twice.....
11 Feb 2008 18:34
Post 5 of 38
jamin
offline
No Company Website yet
Overall Ranking MVP:-17 Rank:1,968,620
Replying to [Ranan]: I DO THINK ALIBABA SHOULD DO MORE TO ORGANISE THIS FORUM BETTER, TO MAKE POSTING MORE VISIBLE ESPECIALLY FOR NEW-COMERS. DO NOT ORDER PHONES FROM CHINA!!! I REPEAT DO NOT ORDER PHONES FROM CHINA!!! I HAVE A SELLERS THERE WHOM I DO BUSINESS WITH AND HE IS HONEST. HE TOLD ME THE TRUTH. I GOT TWO SHIPMENT OF SNEAKERS FROM HIM AND THEY WERE JUST LIKE HE SAID THEY WERE. HE ADVICED ME NOT TO BUY PHONES FROM CHINA. EVEN THOUGH HE HAD PHONE HE TOLD ME JUST LIKE IT IS THAT HE DID NOT HAVE THE REAL STUFF, HE HAD COPIES.

ALSO BE VERY CAREFUL OF THE ONES WHO SAY THEY ARE IN FINLAND AND UK AT THE SAME TIME. THEY DO NOT HAVE A WORKING NUMBER ON THEIR PROFILE, THE ADDRESS IS PARTIALLY WRITTEN AND THEY DO NOT HAVE A WEBSITE. THEY ARE SCAMMERS TOO. ONE OF THEM JUST CURSE ME OUT AND CALL ME ALL SORTS OF NAMES BECAUSE I DECIDED NOT TO WESTERN UNION MY MONEY TO HIM. I DID A THOROUGH CHECK ON HIM AND HIS FAIRYTALE COMPANY. I MADE HIM FEEL LIKE HE WAS WINNING THEN I THREW ALL HIS TRASH IN HIS FACE AND OOWWWW HE WAS MAD THEY GET MAD WHEN YOU QUESTION THEM TOO MUCH TOO...THIEVES, SCAMMERS, RIP-OFFS CONMEN. THEY ARE OUT THERE WAITING LIKE HUNGRY SHARKS. IF YOU NEED ONE PHONE SPEND THE $600 AND GET IT OR GO TO EBAY. IF YOU GO ALIBABA ITS GONNA COST YOU TWICE $600. IF YOU NEED WHOLESALE. MEET THE PERSON FACE TO FACE OR YOU ARE GONNA BE IN FOR SOME BIG LOSES. DONT BE FOOLED BY PICTURE. IF YOU ARE GETTING NOKIA N95 8 GIG WITH GPS AND WIFI FOR 200 USD ITS A SCAM. OPEN YOUR EYES. SOMETIMES YOU DONT EVEN HAVE TO LOOK TO SEE THE SCAM.

08 Mar 2008 05:30
Post 6 of 38
SQL7733
offline
No Company Website yet
Overall Ranking MVP:148 Rank:2,449
Replying to [missq]:

I believe I just fell victim to this as well and I am in deep :(

Alibaba did not warn me at all about their trustpass and gold suppliers. I did business with one already, and obtained a tracking number, I believe them to be legit since they let me use PayPal instead of money transfer.

THe other one tho I went ahead and did a money transfer, They had a trustp *, and I couldnt find any scams linked to their company, and they had a trust pass since 2006...

I just dont get it...

How can this guy be scamming people since 2006 AND STILL HAVE A TRUST PASS??!

In my opinion, Alibaba is totaly at blame for that.

I made 57 sales on Half.com and I dont think my customers are going to get good products >_< Although well I plan on issueing full refunds for all of them if it doesnt work out. I'm out 2000$ :/ Which isnt a whole ton of money in the grand scheme of things. But what hurts most is my pride :( I was so excited about this success.
15 Mar 2008 00:34
Post 7 of 38
Read more about Alibaba's GOLD seller cheats in this Topic:

http://resources.alibaba.com/topic/276451/_GOLD_MEMBER_SCAMMERS.htm?va=0

[em1]
27 Mar 2008 16:01
Post 8 of 38
satorian
offline
No Company Website yet
Overall Ranking MVP:52 Rank:128,046
Replying to [MagicCelebrity]:[em9]

To be honest I have been here checking here and there but its really dificult to trust anybody as it doesnt have a way to give the sellers a feedback like in ebay for example.

By the way its such a strange name for a B2B site. Allibaba and his 40 thief. Does anyone have a clue?
27 Mar 2008 16:24
Post 9 of 38
LuluMCROY
offline
No Company Website yet
Overall Ranking MVP:54 Rank:106,591
Replying to [satorian]:.[em2] Exactlly, the fated name "Alibaba" it says someting about the fairytells here posted...( N 95, VERTU, Iphone or Aeon -mobile phones at 200$...and so on) and clearlly the 40 thives are those companies who are claiming to sell them [em6]). The only diffrence is that on this Alibaba there are 400 thives..not just 40 [em2]
28 Mar 2008 08:03
Post 10 of 38
kruzin
offline
No Company Website yet
Overall Ranking MVP:54 Rank:106,609
Replying to [Ranan]:Im new to alibaba , and your info is greatly appreciated thank you
31 Mar 2008 09:33
Post 11 of 38
HMSIMPORT
offline
No Company Website yet
Overall Ranking MVP:190 Rank:1,465

Hello I am in contact with a UK based company that has published 4470 numbers. After reading the 4470 scammers thread I asked for VAT ID or a  landline number with proper area code and they are refusing to give me any of that information citing various reasons. I also did an IP trace for their emails and found them to be originating from Nigeria. They are asking for 30% deposit to issue an invitation letter to inspect the goods. My suspicion grew when I found their english horrible in emails they write. So many spelling mistakes and grammatical errors.

But they are giving me a company registration certificate with a registration number which is valid with the correct name. They sent me a scanned copy of the registration certificate. This is to import HMS scrap and they sent me a SGS certificate also but when I went to SGS website to check that certificate that number was not there in theie certified clients database. Here is the info on the company

Name: Metal Artefacts Limited

Address : 161-163 FOREST ROAD, WALTHAMSTOW, LONDON, E17 6HE

Phone: 44--703--189-1343 Fax: 44--870--974-7276

Can someone please let me know whether I should proceed to discuss business with them or should I cut off.

02 Apr 2008 04:17
Email this page Bookmark this page