Community > Forums > Payment & Finance > Shipping Costs from China to the USA
Post a topic Post a survey Forum Guidelines

Shipping Costs from China to the USA 38 replies,93829 views

Hi everyone,

My name is Marc Possoff and I have questions about shipping costs from China to the USA as I am new to importing.

Currently I am wanting to start importing custom embroidered baseball caps from China.

I have gotten info about duty on this product at 7.5%.

Also from the factories I have been in contact with I have gotten pricing on shipping costs. They have given me shipping costs per cap for both air and sea.

I'm asking here because I want to make sure that I got all my i's dotted and my t's crossed.

First for some reason shipping costs from each factory are all over.

Approximate weight and size of each carton is...

I will be ordering 1000-1200 pieces at a time on each order. Each factory informed me that they get good shipping rates.

approx. 55x37x57cm / carton
approx 16kgs / carton

Shipping rates I have been told average....

By ocean - $.05 to $.10/piece USD
By air- $.50 to $.77/piece USD(Fed-Ex and DHL)

I prefer to get goods shipped by air as it is much faster.

Ocean might be good for some orders as it seems like ocean is ALOT cheaper.

Tallked with a friend of mind in Canada and he expressed to me to really make sure that shipping rates are correct because when packages arrive you don't want any suprises. He said those ocean rates don't look right.

Let's say $.10/piece for ocean. For 1200 caps that's $120 for ocean shipping, doesn't sound right.

As far as air he's not sure.

So for 1200 caps by air with above approximate specs, air shipping for 1200 caps is $924USD( at the highest quote of $.77), plus duty, etc.

This is why I'm here asking, I don't want any suprises.

What more do I need to know so I don't have any suprises?

Also besides shipping costs what other "expenses" and charges do I need to know? I already know duty is 7.5%. Any other charges?